The Light Bar

233 Shoreditch High Street, E2

Formerly the Great Eastern's Electric Light Generating Station this is the only remaining power station of its type in London. Built by the Great Eastern Railway it was the site of Colonel REB Crompton's world famous electrical engines.

The building played a pioneering role in the development of electric power, and from 1900 the borough of Shoreditch used it as inspiration for its motto 'more light, more power'.

The building, lovingly restored by Urban Edge, is currently threatened with demolition due to Railtrack (the former owners of Britain's rail infrastructure) selling the freehold to City developers - who want to redevelop the site and the adjoining land (that was owned by Hackney Council) for further City-style high-rise developments.

For more information about the Shoreditch communities' campaign to save this building and preserve Shoreditch's unique heritage log on to

This page was added on 12/06/2009.