Conservation Areas Advisory Committees

Photo: Illustrative image for the 'Conservation Areas Advisory Committees' page
Photo:Hackney Empire

Hackney Empire

Are you interested in heritage and conservation issues?

If so you may wish to join one of Hackney’s six Conservation Area Advisory Committees, or CAACs, which advise the Council on planning issues and applications within the borough’s 32 conservation areas.

Professional experience in an urban design, architecture or heritage field is welcomed, but not essential. Members should be able to attend regular monthly meetings on a voluntary basis.

If you would like further information, or wish to join, please contact:
Matt Payne, Conservation, Urban Design & Sustainability Team, Hackney Council, telephone: 020 8356 8106 or email: or contact the relevant CAAC directly, below. 

CAAC contacts

Central and South Hackney CAAC

Chair: Nick Hunn
Secretary: on rotation

Meets on second Mondays

Covers: Graham Road & Mapledene; Broadway Market; Victoria Park; Fremont & Warneford; Town Hall Square; Mare Street; Regents Canal (Sections 1c and 1d); Hackney Wick; Beck Road; Well Street

Clapton CAAC

Secretary/Chair: on rotation

Recent submissions of CCAAC can be found here.

Meets on third Thursdays

CoversClapton SquareClapton CommonClapton PondLea BridgeNorthwold & Cazenove

Dalston CAAC

Chair: Bernard Tulkens
Secretary: on rotation

Some submissions of DCAAC can be found here.

Meets on first Tuesdays

CoversDalstonDalston Lane (West); Queensbridge RoadSt Mark's; Shacklewell Green

Kingsland CAAC

Chair:  Fiona Darbyshire

Recent submissions of KCAAC can be found here.

Meets on first Mondays

Covers: Kingsland; De Beauvoir; Albion Square; Regent's Canal (Section 1b)

Shoreditch CAAC

Chair: Vincent McCartney
Secretary: Katy McCartney

Recent submissions of SCAAC can be found here.

Meets on first Tuesdays

Covers: South Shoreditch; Underwood; Hoxton Street; Hackney Road; Sun Street; Regents Canal (Section 1a); Pitfield Street

Stoke Newington CAAC

Secretary/Chair: on rotation

Recent submissions of SNCAAC can be found here.

Meets on second Mondays

Covers: Stoke Newington; Clissold Park; Lordship Park; Newington Green (north); Stoke Newington Reservoirs, Filter Beds & New River; Brownswood 

Hackney Society Planning Group (HSPG)

Chair: Lisa Shell
Secretary: Nick Perry

More info:

Selected submissions of the HSPG can be found here.

Meets on third Mondays

Covers: The HSPG covers the whole of Hackney, picking out larger schemes across the borough, and smaller ones not in conservation areas, where we feel we can make useful comments on design and public benefit. For more details of the work of the HSPG click here.

This page was added on 11/06/2009.